Hall Of Fame Contemporary Era Committee Welcomes One New Player

The Baseball Hall of Fame Contemporary Era Committee has said 'no' to the faces of the steroid era, and elected just one new member to Cooperstown, and they did it unanimously: Welcome to the Hall, Fred McGriff.

Players needed at least 12 votes from the 16-person committee to get in. Jon Heyman brings us the final vote tally, and as he notes, widely-suspected PED users Barry Bonds and Roger Clemens finished well short, and are going to find it awfully difficult to make their way into the Hall in the future after results like these.

The Crime Dog was on 100% of the ballots, getting 16 votes.

  • Don Mattingly: 8 votes, 50% of ballots 
  • Curt Schilling:  7 votes, 43.8%
  • Dale Murphy:   6 votes, 37.5%
  • Albert Belle, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, Rafael Palmeiro: <4 votes
McGriff was always one of the 'good guys' in the game; he hit 493 HR with 1,550 RBIs in his storied 19-year career mainly with the Toronto Blue Jays, San Diego Padres, Atlanta Braves and Tampa Bay Rays. He was a 5-time all-star and has a World Series ring from his time with the Braves in 1995.

Palmeiro joins Bonds and Clemens in the PED group, while Schilling has been shunned by both baseball writers and this committee due to his extreme political beliefs and dangerous hate speech. 

Photo: Georgie Silvarole/New York State Team via Imagn Content Services, LLC